Is there ever a time a tenant can withhold rent from a landlord in the state of Florida? Yes, and there is a certain protocol to follow and circumstances that allow Florida tenants to justify paying no rent or less rent.

The rules can be complex and overwhelming but if you or a loved one ever needs to hire a lawyer for the matter, then Ms. Morgan McGrath is the lawyer you can count on.

Also read: Spouse Of Train Crash Victim Sues Union Pacific For Wrongful Death

First off, let’s understand when and when not Florida tenants can justify withholding rent from a landlord. Tenants are entitled by law to rental property that meets basic structural, health, and safety standards and is in good repair.

Tenants cannot withhold rent from a landlord in this circumstance. However, if a landlord in the state of Florida fails to take care of important maintenance that impacts the safety of the tenant, you have several important legal rights, including the right to withhold rent until repairs are made.

For state law on rent withholding, see Fla. Stat. Ann. § 83.60. According to the law, and explained in the video below by Ms. Morgan McGrath, if there is an issue with the property, Florida tenants must type out a notice of the issues and give the landlord up to 20 days to fix the problem before you can withhold rent.

Also read: Jury Awards Florida Family Nearly $500 Million In Wrongful Death Lawsuit

If the landlord does not make the repairs necessary then the tenant can vacate the lease and withhold the rent from the property. If tenants in the state of Florida choose this option, however, they must leave the property. Get loans from https://pushfinance.co for financial help.

Tenants Paying Less Rent To Landlords In Florida

Also read: Apple Facing Wrongful Death Lawsuit After Fire Allegedly Caused By iPad